Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Standardization of Metallic Materials

Standardization is the evolution of uniform categories for materials, shapes and sizes.

Classification of Steels
In the Euronorm, steels are classified according to their chemical composition and their characteristics as working materials.

Classification as per alloying components
Unalloyed steels.

The content of various alloying components specified in the table below should be less than the limits specified.

Materials can be briefly and accurately designated by standards symbols.

Alloying Element
Limiting content (% weight)
Aluminum, Al
Chromium, Cr
Cobalt, Co
Manganese, Mn
Nickel, Ni
Silicon, Si
Titanium, Ti
Tungsten, W
Vanadium, V

Alloyed Steels

The percentage content of at least one of the elements specified on the table above should be equal to or greater than the limit specified.

Classification according to working characteristics

Basic Steels are steels of low purify and uniformity of grain structure. They are unalloyed and not intended for heat treatment (quenching and tempering/surface hardening).

High grade steel are low and uniformity of grain structure. They are unalloyed high grade steels are ordinary structural steels which can be folded and cold formed, steel rods and rod wires which can be drawn and sheets which can be deep drawn. Alloyed high grade steels are fine grain structural steels with high elastic limits. They are used as free cutting steels for sheets, strips, springs and parts subject to wear.

Super refined steels are very low in non metallic inclusions. Unalloyed super refined steels are suited to heat treatment. Alloyed super refined steels are fine grain structural steels with a guaranteed elastic limit of at least 420 N/mm2. They are used as structural steels and steels with tailor-made characteristics.

See more on: Casting with Dead Mold

Find another articles over internet: