Thursday, November 3, 2011

Alloy Steel

Many alloy steel composition and the symbol are as follows:
  • EN8: contain 0.4 % medium carbon steel. General purpose this steel for application requiring added strength and superior tensile properties to mild steel specifications.
  • EN9: 0.5% carbon steel giving higher tensile than EN8. Can be induction or flame hardened
  • EN14: A carbon manganese steel
  • EN16: A low alloy high tensile steel
  • EN19: 1% chromium molybdenum high tensile steel. Suitable for highly stressed applications where greater strength is required.
  • EN24: Nickel Chromium molybdenum high tensile steel. Has good wear and shock resistance and is suitable for tensile ranges up to 1550 N/mm2.
  • EN26: A 2.5% nickel chromium molybdenum high tensile steel.
  • EN308: 41/4% nickel steel. Achieves a good through hardness with air or oil hardening. It is capable of taking a good polish and is widely used as a plastic mould steel.
  • EN31: High carbon alloy steel which achieves a high degree of hardness with compressive strength and abrasion resistance.
  • EN32: Special mild case hardening steel which can provide a hard wearing surface with a tough core.
  • EN36: Nickel chromium case hardening steel. Give a very hard surface with a strong core and retaining a high degree of toughness.
  • EN40B: 3% chromium molybdenum nitriding steel. It will achieve a good core strength with a hard nitrided surface. The nitriding process leaves the component scale free.
  • EN41: Similar nitriding specification to EN40B but with improved nitriding characteristic.

Find another articles over internet: